Is Your Debt getting In Your Way?

ron-manke-20667

Photo by: Ron Manke

As a young bright eyed 20 something fresh out of high school and straight into college I know nothing about money, credit or debt. I thought to myself I had a job so of course I could pay the bill on this new credit card. Two years later I had a few maxed-out credit cards and no money to pay the bill.  I graduated college, and I still knew nothing about money, credit or debt, and now I had school loans. But all my financial problems were about to end or so I thought. I had got this great new job making great new money. That “Great New” ended after about 18 months. At this point I had credit cards, student loans and a house. Thought that new job was going to last forever but it didn’t. There was a lot more jobs after that. And every time I was fired or quit there was debt waiting for me.

Let’s get back to the question at hand. Is your debt getting in your way? The answer is it depends on you. What do you think about this question? Think about your life and the experiences you have had with debt. Is it helping or hurting. My answer to that question is Yes, it’s in the way. Debt has been holding me back from my true potential ever since I was 18 and got my first credit card the summer before college. But I did not realize it at the time. Everyone I know still thinks that having a great credit score is the best thing on the planet. I believe that when must of them die they will die still owing someone. They would not have known that feeling of relaxing with NO care in the world.

I didn’t want to live like that anymore and at age 31 I started cutting the cord. I’m now on the road to Debtfreeville.  Debt can be the mountain in your way or the hill you climb for perfect credit. The choice is yours. I say don’t do debt. Wait be patient buy what you can afford and live with less stress. If I could go back to that 18-year-old me and say don’t do it live stress free I would. Is debt going to be your mountain or hill?.

Leave a Reply

